World Dairy Expo Week: Five Holstein Bulls That Drove Me to Crossbreeding

 

 

(note: this is the first in what I’ll try to make a few posts during World Dairy Expo Week. After Expo Week, we plan on having a Polled Week with possibly some guest posts)

Time for a bit of a reflective post.  When I began crossbreeding, it wasn’t just an exercise for fun.  I was genuinely searching for a more robust and profitable animal.  With that in mind, let’s look at the Holstein bulls that were popping up as sires of cows that drove me to begin this thought process that the cow world is not all black and white.  Before I go on a critical look at some well known bulls, let it be known that this is not a dig at the people that bred these bulls and not a jab at the companies that marketed them.  You’ll see mostly Select Sires bulls on here, which is a function of being a heavy user of Select Sires at the time.  Consequently, using a lot of Select Sires also introduced us to Swedish Red and Montbeliarde.  So this isn’t meant to be critical of any people or organizations.  Just a perspective of where I feel things went wrong for my herd’s genetics.

1.  MARA-THON BW MARSHALL-ET – First on my list is good old BW Marshall.  Nobody will criticize the milking ability of his daughters.  They just flat out milked from the day they entered the milking herd.  Almost as though a sprinter was trying to run a marathon that is a cow’s life, they ran out of gas at an early age for the most part.  This is confirmed by his productive life score of -2.0.  Fertility was also a problem.  His daughters were some of my worst to get bred.  Another trait where BW Marshall was poor in was….. no, let’s save that for his son who carried that bad trait on and then some.

2. SILDAHL AIRRAID – Daughter stillbirths! Airraid’s daughter still birth rate is 19.2%.  Birthing for the cow is a natural process that ought to have as little human intervention as possible.  It’s better for the cow, and it’s better for the people that don’t want to get phone calls at 1:00 AM that a cow is having trouble calving.  If a vet school class wanted to have a lab on calving difficulties, just have a bunch of Airraid daughters ready to calve at the same time.  I’ve seen it all with them.  Backwards, upside down, head and/or feet caught underneath, or like today’s example of completely normal presentation except dead.  And I’m fairly certain that these calving difficulties sink the bull in other areas.  Hard calvings tend to lead to a snowball effect of problems.  From metabolic problems after calving to reproductive problems down the road.  Nothing good comes from a stillbirth or hard calving.

BW Marshall may have his warts but he has some decent sons when crossed on healthier bloodlines.  BW Marshall on a Manfred dam should theoretically make a decent cross, but in this case the inheritance and amplification of BW Marshall’s daughter calving traits sink the bull.  On the bright side, this bull could have been worse.  He could have had Manfred’s type traits on top.  Though I did love my ugly Manfreds.

3. WIL-HART E LOUIE-ET – This bull probably holds my record for sudden deaths.  It was not at all unusual for Louie daughters to turn up in the morning dead in their freestall.  Another bull with a terrible productive life (-4.8), it makes one wonder what kind of genetic deficiencies this bull passed on.  Was it heart issues?  I never autopsied any of them.  Looking at their sire identification was enough of an explanation for me.

Louie’s name appearing in the pedigree of Macomber O-Man Bogart scared me off, but with Bogart’s second crop coming in and his health traits being much closer to O Man than Louie, I’m giving him a 10 unit whirl (on crossbreds of course).

4. HENKESEEN HILLCREST-ET –  Too big and infertile.  While they definitely had strength to back up their stature, the infertility (-3.2 DPR) of these cows was too much.  I think I’ve got one more of these running around as she seemed to always conceive on a last chance breeding.

5. REGANCREST ELTON DURHAM-ET – This selection is likely to ruffle a few Holstein breeder feathers.  I wouldn’t have included Durham when I actually started crossbreeding.  Looking back now, he makes this list for reasons I’m basically speculating on due to experiences I’ve had.  I was never turned off by the temperament of Durham daughters despite taking a few shots from them.  My problem is that I’ve dealt with some rear leg paralysis issues in cows over the past few years and every single one of those cows had Durham in the pedigree.  What starts as some cramps ends in paralysis of the read legs.  I’ve heard others talk about the ‘Durham Cramps’ but I don’t believe there is any proof of this being a genetic trait.  For a bull that is almost universally praised and considered a legend of the Holstein breed, I can’t help but wonder as my experience with this paralysis isn’t just one or two cows.   They are not necessarily Durham daughters, but all have Durham close in the pedigree.

So there you have five bulls that helped push me toward a crossbred herd.  I’m sure if I was doing my business with other companies at the time, this look may look different.  I never had the pleasure of using a bull like Stouder Morty for example.  The takeaway message here is that there are a few similar traits these bulls all share.  They are negative for productive life and daughter pregnancy rate (minus Durham on DPR).  Say what you will about health traits, my experience matches the numbers with these bulls.  So I turned elsewhere to find more health and vigor, especially when I was constantly told by certain segments of the breeding world that selecting for health traits was foolish.  And I haven’t looked back since.


20 Comments on “World Dairy Expo Week: Five Holstein Bulls That Drove Me to Crossbreeding”

  1. Dave Goodrich says:

    A lot of the same bulls also lead me to start a lot of crossbreeding. I used a lot of Marshall and a lot of his sons. They really milked for about 2 years. I also used a lot of Durham blood. I used a lot of a bull called Ross at select and they are not good cows. I also with my history with reg holsteins and my old thinking(I still like my women with long angular legs but not my cows) and that does not work well with freestalls I never used Oman, that was probably my biggest mistake I ever made I really like the few sons I used but i never used many because I thought there was not enough type. the good thing is I am using a lot of Oman blood today on my holstein selection. I also used a lot of Morty sons they were very short lived I get nervous everytime I see Morty in a pedigree. I am not sure about all the Goldwyn blood out there makes me nervous. They seem to have good productive life but look to be built very angular and not have the strenght that you need in a freestall operation

    • Jon Lundgren says:

      Not sure what to think of the Goldwyn blood either. I used Crown for a while on crossbreds, having the O Man behind him is comforting. Goldwyn’s sons didn’t get all that much use in my Holsteins before I made the complete switch.

      • Brent Pollard says:

        We don’t have any Crowns milking but I think they could possibly be the some of the best heifers that we’ve ever had. They calve easily and early like Oman with no complications even had a set of twins and that cow is doing great. They are little calves and aggressive and rarely have bad days. If his proof is right, they should be good cows too.

    • dairycarrie says:

      Dave, if you are interested in some red top Oman let me know. I have some in my tank.

  2. beth says:

    Love your blog, ESP the genetic info. Thanks.

    • paulmeade says:

      Agree great blog. Holsteins have come a long way in the last decade and a half in regaining fertility and longevity, but Goldwyn has very liitle if any application in our system.

  3. Kevin Litwiller says:

    I don’t remember the pedigree of the bull Bright from Select Sires, but I had a lot of calves die on their way out the dam with him. Even on some of my crossbred cows. Calves would pull easy ,but die that way too. It got to point I dreaded his calves comeing, glad I didn’t use him long.

  4. Matt Bomgardner says:

    I had two AirRaids that combined had 5 calves of which only one would be considered easy , all the others needed some assistance with one of the 5 being very difficult.

    I don’t have more than 5 daughters of any bull so it’s tough to comment, but I hate having cows/heifers calve in that have problems for no reason. My only Morty calved for the first time and retained her placenta for no reason which caused metritis. 6 services later she gets pregnant. Marion was another bull that didn’t impress me. Daughters milked like crazy but couldn’t resist problems and therefore didn’t last. Signif-P is out of Marion and while they milk, it seems he is a replica of his father.

  5. Lance Johnson says:

    Well I’m going to stay in the family and rip on Lou’s full and much more popular brother Toystory. I honestly have no idea how Genex could sell two million units on a bull like him. His daughters seem to be very prone to mastitis and the ones that that doesnt kill usually have a hard time getting bred back.

    • Lance Johnson says:

      Didnt realize till after i reread the original post you mentioned the bull Louie and not Lou. However I did keep it in the family seeing as Toystory is a BW Marshall son.

    • Jared says:

      i dont mind my Toystory cows,lack a bit of front end for my liking but they are doing the job got 3 4yr cows all on there 3rd Lact and 2 hfrs just calved in both at right on time at 24mths. No mastitas as yet. Got a real nice Oman out of one of the old ones thats just calved in to.

  6. Julian Sanders says:

    Convincer and shackles, sorry I meant Shottle.

  7. Denge says:

    We have a ton of alexanders (7h8221) coming in right now. Its almost animal cruelty to breed an animal that frail. We’ve had 2 go down and not get back up and 1 more that could just barely get onto the trailer and these were all less than 100 days into their first lactation. Way too many are already coded DNB due to mobility and lameness issues. Not expecting to have too many around by lactation 3.

    Honorable mentions from my dad: HHF due to lameness and BW marshall for sire still birth.

    • Jon Lundgren says:

      Alexander was one that was in my matings for a short time but his DPR actually scared me off at the time from using much and I never got a heifer calf.

      Maybe that’s a good thing. Going to have to breed those Alexanders to Fleckvieh to get a little strength into them?

      • Denge says:

        Yeah I don’t know if fleckvieh will be enough, might have to use some belgian blue. Haha.

  8. Moscow deserves a spot here too oh what a disgrace tall thin cows with horrible feet I had one out of a cow that lived almost 20 yrs and she couldnt even make it out of her first lact

  9. Nick says:

    Oman did the holstein world a lot of harm. They have bad udders, and most were the size of a big jersey. I had 2 of them none made it past 2 lactations and always were a cell count problem. I have have many Durhams and Marshalls over 8 years old all over 200,000 milk and all scored Very Good 88 or higher living in a freestall enviroment!!

    • Bazza says:

      Haha. Around a 100000 daughters in his proof say otherwise.

      You said you had 2. Can hardly make any conclusions from that few numbers.

      Oman has done more good for the breed than pobably any bull in the last 20 years.

  10. Bazza says:

    A bit late on this but here are some of mine.

    Bolton.
    Mine are still young but there conception rate is true to his proof. My 2 year old Boltons averaged around 20% conception rate where other 2 years old by high DPR bulls are doing 60%. So much for the low heritability of DPR

    Garrison
    No idea how they sold 1 million straws of this bull. Ordinary type, most don’t milk, poor health traits and as heifers especially most got mastitis more than once.

    James.
    Our ones here couldn’t walk and are slow milkers and just seem to be sick all the time.

    Figaro
    These were very annoying. Nice type cows with massive production. Fertility was ok. Only one massive problem was cell count. Think I’ve got 2 left out of 10 or so all sold for mastitis and the 2 left are both being treated at the moment.

    Dundee.
    Terrible animals. No milk poor fertility and mastitis. To top it off the type wasn’t that great either.


Leave a comment